The Tower of London, with its incredible history and its sombre, forbidding presence, is always impressive- but seeing it surrounded by a sea of blood red blooms (888,246 ceramic poppies representing British and Colonial lives lost during World War I) is nothing short of breathtaking.

IMG_2085.JPG

I was there on a Saturday, and the crowds were fierce, but I barely noticed. I simply could not take my eyes off that brilliant red moat!

IMG_2086.JPG

IMG_2089.JPG

I rounded the corner of the Tower and the full extent of what I was seeing became apparent.

IMG_2093.JPG

IMG_2091.JPG

 This was more than art. It was more than ‘pretty’. I found myself thinking about those 888, 246 lives- what kind of men they were, how old they were when they died, where they were killed, how their mothers, fathers, wives, brothers, sisters and lovers grieved for them. I thought of my little boys back home in Australia, and all the lost sons those flowers represented.

It was incredibly moving.

IMG_2095.JPG

IMG_2094.JPG

IMG_2098.JPG

IMG_2122.JPG

Of course I went inside…

IMG_2101.JPG

Traitor’s Gate is one of my favourite parts of the Tower. Built between 1275 and 1279 as a way for King Edward I to access the Tower by river, the gate is infamously remembered as the point where prisoners such as Thomas More, Queen Katherine Howard, Lady Jane Grey, Elizabeth I and Queen Anne Boleyn entered the Tower.

IMG_2102.JPG

I kept wandering, soaking up the history.

IMG_2104.JPG

IMG_2107.JPG

IMG_2110.JPG

IMG_2108.JPG

IMG_2114.JPG

Tower Green, the site of the scaffold. Queen Anne Boleyn, Queen Katherine Howard and Lady Jane Grey were among the unlucky folk whose lives ended here.

IMG_2112.JPG

IMG_2113.JPG

IMG_2115.JPG

IMG_2120.JPG

I found myself reaching out and touching things, partly to convince myself that I was really here, and also as a way of getting some kind of grasp on the passage of time. I wondered how many other hands, over the centuries, had touched this wall. Poppies, stones, years and lives- I was overwhelmed by them, by my inability to count them, by the insignificance of my very small presence against a very large, and very bloody, history. 

 

IMG_2097.JPG 

