IMG_2145.JPG

When I visited the UK and Germany on a writing retreat/ research trip in late 2014, I managed to squeeze in one precious day in London. Most of it was spent gawping like a fish at the poppy- flooded Tower, and it seemed that the more I saw during that single day, the more I lost. There is just so much to see in London that for every sight I squeezed in, hopping on and off crowded red buses, fumbling with cheap ear buds and language settings, dodging specks of goopy grey rain and huge crowds, I lost three more.

Nevertheless I am filled with gratitude that I was there, that I saw, touched and breathed London (yes, even the weird, smelly girl beside me on the tube), even for one day.

My first proper look. Always a thrill to see those red buses...
My first proper look. Always a thrill to see those red buses…

20140916-084102-31262322.jpg
The National Gallery.
20140916-084141-31301042.jpg

Statue of Eros @ Piccadilly Circus (I can still recall the bitter disappointment I felt on coming here as a child and discovering that there is no actual circus.)
Statue of Eros @ Piccadilly Circus (I can still recall the bitter disappointment I felt on coming here as a child and discovering that there is no actual circus.)
LondonCotswoldsBlackForest 196

LondonCotswoldsBlackForest 195

LondonCotswoldsBlackForest 202
Fleet Street.

Riding on the big red bus. Such fun!
Riding on the big red bus. Such fun!

St Paul's Cathedral. I have been inside before, so didn't hop off the bus.
St Paul’s Cathedral. I have been inside before, so didn’t hop off the bus.
LondonCotswoldsBlackForest 214

Heading for the Tower.
Heading for the Tower.
image

IMG_2087

LondonCotswoldsBlackForest 313

I took about three million photos of the Tower- you can see them in my earlier post here.

Down to the river...
Down to the river…

.... to Shakespeare's place.
…and the Globe. Shakespeare selfie! (You can’t avoid selfies when travelling alone, I discovered.)
LondonCotswoldsBlackForest 374

LondonCotswoldsBlackForest 379

The big boy.
The big boy.
LondonCotswoldsBlackForest 402

LondonCotswoldsBlackForest 403

Westminster Abbey.
Westminster Abbey. (Just about my favourite place in the entire world. I spent three hours wandering about inside it last time I visited London. And if it hadn’t been closed for maintenance, I would have done it all again.)
LondonCotswoldsBlackForest 408

LondonCotswoldsBlackForest 414

LondonCotswoldsBlackForest 419

LondonCotswoldsBlackForest 422

Boudicca!
Boudicca!
LondonCotswoldsBlackForest 427

LondonCotswoldsBlackForest 429

 

LondonCotswoldsBlackForest 431

LondonCotswoldsBlackForest 449
Buckingham Palace.
LondonCotswoldsBlackForest 451

IMG_2040.JPG

IMG_2032.JPG

IMG_2039.JPG

