So, it’s New Year’s Day- that time when we stop and reflect on the year that was: the lows, the highs, the triumphs and trials. Or, in my case, the books.

I am a librarian and though there are many parts of my job that I love, talking with a wide range of people (including complete strangers) about what they’ve been reading is a definite highlight. To celebrate the fine art of book-chat, and to instigate a session of it right here, I will now share my favourite reads of 2014. What do you think? Have you read them? What were your best reading experiences of the year?

Giants of the Frost by Kim Wilkins

IMG_1321.JPG

Wildflower Hill by Kimberley Freeman

IMG_1323.JPG

Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler

IMG_1329.JPG
(I blogged about this one earlier in the year. You can read the post here.)

The Shadow Year by Hannah Richell

IMG_1333.JPG
(I also blogged about this one here).

Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #3)

IMG_1324.JPG

By Blood We Live (The Last Werewolf #3) by Glen Duncan

IMG_1328.JPG

Dr Sleep by Stephen King

IMG_1326.JPG
(Yes, I enjoyed this. I really, really did.)

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

IMG_1322.JPG
(Technically a December 2013 read but I saw the film in 2014 so am rolling it over.)

Dreamer’s Pool by Juliet Marillier – OK, I am still reading this one and should really save it for the 2015 list, but it happens to sport my very favourite cover of 2014, so I’m giving it a spot here, too. Isn’t it beautiful? The artist is Arantza Sestayo.

IMG_1327.JPG

Your turn!

